Tags

,

I tend to take out a package of meat in the morning to defrost without any idea of what I am going to make with it. By dinner time today I was feeling like having Chili. Usually, I make it in the crock pot. Easy. Throw all the ingredients together in the morning and forget about until dinner. I didn’t give myself enough time today, so I made it on the stove. It turned out just as good, just less mushy.

What you’ll need

1 lb of meat (optional, we use turkey)

1 can black beans

1 can kidney beans

3/4 jar tomato sauce

1/2 chopped medium onion (I keep a bag of frozen chopped onions in my freezer at all times)

handful or two of frozen corn (Mr. Macaroni tells me every time to not add the corn, but I like it)

2 tbsp chili powder

salt to taste

pepper to taste

garlic powder

hot sauce (optional)

First brown the meat and then add in the rest of the ingredients.

Stir. Cover. Reduce heat to low. If it’s looking a little dry at this point add in a little more tomato sauce. Leave on the stove about 15 minutes and serve over rice. Top with cheese and/or sour cream. Easy.

The kids LOVE chili. Peanut ate two BIG bowls. I swear he has a hollow leg.

Thank goodness tomorrow is Saturday. I may have to pass that first diaper change on to Mr. Macaroni. Too much information? Sorry.

After dinner we went to Target. Butter has been talking and talking and talking about how he would like to go as Jake from Jake and the Never Land Pirates for Halloween.

It’s a very cute costume, but it’s $40!! That seems pricey…

Luckily, while at Target he seemed very interested in the Woody costume from Toy Story.

That would be a $12 costume AND we still have a Buzz costume from last year, SOOOOOOOO Peanut and Butter could MATCH! Perfect. We’ll see. I could always make Butter a Jake costume. Doesn’t look too difficult. Could make for an interesting blog post, anyway!

