Hello everyone, sorry I haven’t posted, but we had a visit from Sandy that has left us still without power. It went out around 6:30 on Monday. That was the scariest because every time I heard crack then boom my heart would stop. The kids had a good time that night. We had anticipated we would lose power and picked up batteries, water and by glow sticks.

Around 9:00pm we saw lights flashing outside our window. Turns out a tree fell in the road by our driveway. I couldn’t believe they were already out clearing the road in the middle of the storm. While we watched a tree fell miraculously missing the men.

I got no sleep that night because I kept checking on the kids to make sure they were ok. Thank goodness they were. We had a few trees fall in our backyard and miraculously they missed our home, swing set and fence. One house down a tree took out a telephone pole and transformer. This lovely mess is still here almost a week later.

We stayed in our house until Wednesday and by then it had gotten very very cold. We are so lucky that my in-laws got their power back. There is a shelter available at a local college and with all the hotels booked that would have been where we were headed. Instead we have been able to stay with family.

Our thoughts and prayers go out to everyone affected by this storm. My heart is broken seeing images of the Jersey shore. We love our annual trip and are looking forward to the next time we can feel its soft sand beneath our toes.

Supposedly our power will be back on by Tuesday. It will be nice to be back in our home again. However, I can’t help but count our blessings on how lucky we were and so grateful that our loved ones are safe as well.

